Activities, and hobbies, Life changes, Literature, Reflections and rumination

Coming full circle: why editing doesn’t make me cry anymore

In my younger days as a writer/content writer, a heavily edited script used to make me feel miserable. I hated my editors and managers, and thought that they don’t know English. There have been times when I have cried myself to sleep over a document that bled with red marks of shame.

Today, things are a little different. Just finished editing this page from an upcoming story that I am writing. It looks like it has been through a war of thousand cuts. Yet, I feel immense joy and pride in this work. It’s not perfect, it will never be perfect. However, with every edit I bring it little closer to perfection. As a writer, I think that is what counts.

edits

Standard

Leave a Reply

