Internet & Technology, Technology & Gadgets

Hipsters, Apple, and Motorola

I don’t like shaving my beard. I don’t have a very dense one anyway. I don’t like wearing clothes that make me uncomfortable, and I am routinely unwilling to look squeaky clean. I like to think my tastes in music are eclectic, and I have an unquenchable thirst for the outdoors. All qualities of a hipster, right? Yet I don’t identify as one.

It has to possibly do with the fact that unlike hipsters, I have no real craze to be eclectic just for the sake of being eclectic. I openly admit that I sometimes have some guilty pleasures such as watching mind-numbing, action films. However, one thing that separates me from hipsters is my disbelief in iPhones.

Apple and iPhones to me represent a manufactured ‘alternative’ culture, that has ironically become mainstream now. Yet it has been heralded as the epitome of uniqueness. Under this feeling, there is a notion of showing off that you are ‘different’. In my mind this screams desperate, and is an act of someone who in fact feel  insecure.

I just don’t seem to fit into this culture of being ‘alternative’ for sake of being ‘alternative’. Also, I can’t bring myself to appriciate the fleeting quality of Apple products. I find them overpriced and lacking in innovation. On the other hand, Motorola has been innovating consistently for many years now, and the recent Moto Z series has great promise. Would it mean that Hipsters will shift to Motorola next? Who knows… I don’t look forward to that day since I own a Motorola.

Standard

Leave a Reply

